My London

3 May

She adored London. The city is passionate and beautiful like she was. – Spaced, Series 2, Episode 1

I have been a Londoner for a good 7 years now and I love it here. I thought I would only stay for 2 years and then move on to New York, but then again, New York can wait.

One of the things I love about this city is its vibrance. There’s just a lot of things to try and do. You already know about my new passion towards theatre and performing arts which has actually occupied most of my spare time, so today after enjoying a matinee performance of the National’s Major Barbara (dont worry it’s only my third) I decided to walk around the Southbank before heading home.

eddie and I were here last week after seeing Happy Now? at the National and I was surprised when we saw the book market. Apparently, the Southbank Book Market is one of London’s best kept secrets.

From London is Free: Often described as London’s best kept secret the Southbank Book Market really does have something for everyone selling English lit classics, photographs, arts books, maps, antique books and lots, lots more besides. The market is open daily, during summer from 10.30am to 6.30pm, and during the winter months from 12pm to 5.30pm outside the National Theatre under the arches of Waterloo Bridge. The South Bank Book Market is one of Southern England’s only outdoor book markets and has been thriving since 1982, it really is must for London based book lovers.

I got 2 books on Ibsen’s plays and Voltaire’s Candide for £8 altogether. If you happen see me there one of these days, please don’t be a stranger and say hello.

4 Responses to “My London”

  1. Marina May 6, 2008 at 8:04 pm #

    Sigh. London looks like such a gorgeous place! I didn’t realize you had plans to make your way to NY. That’s very cool!

  2. Simone May 8, 2008 at 12:34 am #

    Cheers Marina, you ought to visit sometime!

  3. Charlene April May 18, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    no vinyl records in the book market? =p

  4. Simone May 20, 2008 at 1:01 am #

    There are of course but I didnt bring your list then because we didnt know it existed. I am watching a matinee in June so we’ll go and have a look.

Leave a Reply

