38

10 May

I am 38 years old today.

My advancing years didn’t used to bother me in the past, but turning 38 is different, and no, I will not even try to explain why.

The week leading to today has not been easy, I feel out of sorts, very anti-social, and just wanted to be left alone all the time, and that’s not me at all. Now if this is a sign of aging, then I don’t like it very much. I felt like this before but that was because of other external factors- college, relationship problems and the like. This time though I seem to revel in my solitude, I am giving myself a lot of quality me time that I never used to do before. But I hope it’s just another phase, just leave me be, maybe its really just because I turned 38.

I was chatting with my friend Morbius on Facebook today and wanting to cheer me up said,

Morbius: Simone, 38 is just a number.

Simone: But why does it feel old?

Morbius: 38 is the new 28.

If only I could believe that.

5 Responses to “38”

  1. _ram-jaane' May 12, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    I’ve been solitude driven ever since I can remember … it’s not necessarily a bad thing.
    It just means you’re spending more time with like minded people 😉

    Besides 38 is a good number, it even adds up to 2!!

  2. Kevin Porter May 17, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    Happy Birthday, Simone!

    I’ve stumbled across you while checking out Lyn Gardner’s What to See This Week in the Guardian. I’m a relatively recent convert to theatre going since my two daughters became enthusiasts of amateur dramatics. In a way I’m a bit jealous of your easy access to London where the majority of the action is. We live in the West Midlands and drive down, usually on a Saturday to take in two plays, but only when we can afford it! Next week we are coming to see The City and Rosmersholm. I’ll be interested to read what you think of them.

    Nevertheless Stratford is hop, skip and a jump away and venues such as Warwick Art Centre, Birmingham Rep, Malvern and the New Vic at Newcastle-under-Lyme often have decent plays on.

    Aside theatre I’m more of a bookworm than a film buff, as my blogspot will attest if you care to have a squint. I’ll look forward to popping in to Feigned Mischief to see what you’ve seen and I hope you don’t mind if I add a comment or two.

    Cheers, Kevin (dylanwolf)

  3. Simone May 17, 2008 at 2:29 pm #

    @ Ram: You are ever so comforting and okay, you can call me Tiny! 😉

    @ Kevin: Thanks for dropping by! I might have read a few of your posts at the Guardian because your username is very familiar.

    Like yourself, my conversion to theatre was just recently as well, since I saw the RSC’s repertoire productions of King Lear & The Seagull at the New London Theatre in 2007. I have seen productions before that, a couple of Ibsens, but my seemingly addiction to it was triggered by these recent productions and since then I’ve been hooked! I got crazy one evening just booking productions left, right and centre!

    I have to agree that if you’re into this kind of hobby, then living in London is a really great thing. I literally need to just take one bus and it will take me straight to the National, and my local theatre, the Hackney Empire is just a 15 minute walk from my workplace or from my flat. But you said it yourself, where you live is also buzzing with theatre energy! I am tempted to go to Chichester and catch Funny Girl as the reviews about it have been glowing, and at the same time catch The Cherry Orchard, so we’ll see about that!

    Oh, please feel free to make a comment and do visit from time to time. I tend to write up my reviews a week after I’ve seen them, but if I have free time I write them up straightaway. Saying that, I just added you to my blogroll seeing you’ve very kindly added me too.

    I am really excited about Rosmersholm on Monday night, Ibsen is one of my favorite dramatists and Helen McCrory is a brilliant actress so that should make for a promising evening. So what else have you got booked for the coming months?

  4. Richard Brunton May 22, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Hey Simone, Happy Birthday (belated).

    Morbius is right, it is just a number. Everything else you’re feeling is caused by your own mind. So if you can identify that and control it, then it won’t matter what number is used to identify your age, it’s all about how you feel about yourself, and with so many friends you should be feeling great. Prop on them for some support.

    Richard

  5. Simone May 25, 2008 at 10:37 am #

    Cheers Richard!

    Youre right, it was all a state of mind that particular week, I am much better now. Y0u have to tell me more about the honeymoon and as always you look dapper in them wedding pix!

Leave a Reply

