Opera Lover

20 May

Puccini’s Tosca and Turandot.

Donizetti’s Anna Bolena.

So far these are the only opera productions that I have seen and enjoyed in the last 2 years since I became an opera fan. As opera tickets doesnt come easy on the pocket unlike theatre, I usually wait till it’s a production that I really wanted to see that I will be tempted to book it.

So after having been introduced to Bernstein’s comic operetta Candide recently, via the National Theatre’s revival that I only listened to when I got the soundtrack, I found out after browsing the ENO’s website this week that they are staging Candide from 23 Jun 08 – 12 Jul 08! I am really tempted to book it even if Pangloss would not be played by Simon Russell Beale who incidentally won the 1999 Olivier Award for Best Actor in a Musical. (Have you noticed that whenever I get the chance I would mention a snippet or two about SRB?) And then there is the staging of the much loved double bill of Cavalleria rusticana & Pagliacci from Sat 20 Sep 08 – Thu 23 Oct 08 also from the ENO.

Now tell me, what’s a girl got to do?

6 Responses to “Opera Lover”

  1. fineeyes May 21, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    I’ve heard mixed things about this production of “Candide,” so I booked a cheap seat in the gods as I love the score. The role of Voltaire/Pangloss is being played by Alex Jennings, who may not be Simon Russell Beale, but I think he’s wonderful and should suit the roles very well.

  2. Simone May 21, 2008 at 9:22 pm #

    Hi fineeyes, nice of you to drop by. I was thinking that too, even if I end up not liking it I won’t feel so bad parting with my twenty quid. So I just booked Candide and Cavalleria rusticana/Pagliacci. What other productions will you be seeing this year?

    I didn’t mean to say that Jennings will not make a good Pangloss, I am just really obsessed with Simon Rusell Beale.

  3. fineeyes May 22, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    Oh, I knew that! I didn’t mean to sound abrasive at all, I’m sorry if I came across that way. I’m new to blogging, that’s my excuse.

    I can’t remember how I came across your blog, but I really enjoy your theatre reviews and look forward to your next lot.

  4. Simone May 22, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    Oh no! I didn’t mean that you came across as abrasive. But you made a good point about Alex Jennings, I think Simon Russell Beale is also a fan of his. So when did you book Candide? And what other shows are you planning to watch?

    I am quite new in reviewing theatre productions so please bear with me as I find my way, I am glad you enjoy reading my reviews, keep coming and posting!

    I am Simone by the way. I’ll drop you a line or two one of these days. 🙂

  5. Julia "fineeyes" May 25, 2008 at 8:29 pm #

    I booked Candide quite a while ago, when Kristin Chenoweth was still attached to play Cunegonde. It would have been interesting to have seen her live, but I’m not heartbroken about it.

    I tend to buy theatre tickets at the very last minute (it usually saves money), but I’m hoping to see Marguerite, Pygmalion, Rosmersholm, Brief Encounter and Gigi over the summer months when I’m home. I may have to look into getting a ticket for Major Barbara too, despite not being much of a Shaw fan…

  6. Simone May 26, 2008 at 12:40 am #

    Hi again Julia, will this be your first time to see Candide? Wasn’t Chenoweth also in Wicked?

    I highly recommend Major Barbara, and let me know what you thought about it!

Leave a Reply

