Theatretrotting in June

1 Jun

This is fast becoming my favourite regular feature, as it makes me look forward to what theatre I treat myself to every month! Over at the Guardian, which is one of my favorite reads for theatre and performing arts opinions and reviews, Lyn Gardner has a weekly version of theatre that she intends to see every week. As I don’t go that often like most critics do, (I wish!) I do envy the likes of Natasha Tripney of Interval Drinks who not only writes reviews in her own blog but also reviews for musicOMH, and contributes as freelance theatre critic to the Guardian, The Stage, New Statesman no wonder she gets to sees tons of theatre every week. You’re living the dream Tasha!

Now then, here’s where you will find me this month:

June 2- The Pitmen Painters, National Theatre

June 5- Afterlife, National Theatre

June 16- De Profundis, National Theatre

June 20- The Chalk Garden, Donmar Warehouse

June 21 & 27- Major Barbara, National Theatre (my 5th and 6th!)

June 30- Rosmersholm, Almeida

Not that I am keeping score but it looks like I will be hanging out at the National so many times this month, so if you happen to be around, don’t be a stranger and say hello!

4 Responses to “Theatretrotting in June”

  1. Helen Smith June 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    That’s quite a packed month of theatre. I can’t believe you’re seeing Major Barbara for the 5th time! Funny you should mention Natasha Tripney because from what I can tell from her reviews, I tend to like what she likes – and shy away from things she doesn’t like – so I take note of what she says on her blog.

    Anyway, enjoy what you’ve booked. I’ll be interested to see what you make of The Chalk Garden – I love Penelope Wilton. And Margaret Tyzack of course. I think they were both in a rather histrionic Lorca at the National a few years ago. Did you see it? MT (if it was MT) had a smallish role which she milked. PW was wonderful.

  2. Simone June 11, 2008 at 12:31 am #

    Hi Helen, thanks for dropping by. I know from reading your blog (confession, I am a long time reader, but quite intimidated to post!) that you’re taking a break from theatre this year, having seen a lot last year but you didnt really enjoyed, and then there’s some theatre bingeing going on, I like that post of yours actually.

    I do average about 5-6 productions a month, but I find it’s getting a bit exhausting, my excuse is that since I am going to be theatre-free when I come home to the Philippines around Aug-Sept, I can afford to watch as many now, not to mention the opera productions I also have to see! *sigh* Oh, I am in love with Simon Russell Beale, which explains why I have seen Major Barbara that many times, and let me tell you now the 5th time is not the last! Hihihi

    Yeah, big fan of Tasha and I have to say she has saved me a lot of money! What I am tempted to try in the future is Fringe theatre, since I am a theatre virgin I had to look up what it means! There’s a few playing at the Arcola but I have to squeeze them into my already tight July schedule.

    Re: Lorca’s The House of Bernarda Alba. I am afraid I missed that production at the National as I only really started to see lots of theatre last year, I’ve seen a few Ibsen’s here and there, but last year was really the start of all this madness. But PW is amazing, I was very impressed with her performance in John Gabriel Borkman last year. What about you, seeing any theatre at all this month?

  3. eddie June 12, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    It’s the longest day and we’re watching SRB?

  4. Simone June 12, 2008 at 11:58 pm #

    The best way to celebrate it, don’t you think so too?

Leave a Reply

