Doctor Who 2008 X’mas Special

15 Nov

It’s no secret that I absolutely love Doctor Who. Since rediscovering it in last year’s Voyage of the Damned, I have been hooked since. I would devour anything related to the franchise! It’s a real shame when Tennant announced leaving the series come 2010 but let’s not forget that we still have him for another year, so it’s not as if it will all be over soon, 1 year is still 365 days, although for a Time Lord that’s really just 5 episodes. And the point of this blog entry is that there’s the X’mas special to look forward to and just by looking at this preview trailer I know we are in for another fantastic episode! It’s also worth speculating if David Morrissey can make a good Doctor, wasn’t his name mentioned as a worthy candidate? Know what, based on this trailer, I dont mind really! For a while there I thought it wouldnt hurt so much to see Tennant go if we had somebody like Morrissey to take over the TARDIS.

AnyWho, enjoy the trailer and tell me what you think! Cheers to my dear friend Morbius who posted the link in Facebook for it absolutely made my day, the cold I am brewing suddenly didnt exist.

ALLONSY!

6 Responses to “Doctor Who 2008 X’mas Special”

  1. Richard Brunton November 15, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    He was well over the top and show-y, and that makes me think that he’s not a real Doctor. Looking at the Cyberman and what’s going on I wonder if he’s acting and playing the part of, what those people in that time and world believe is, a fictional character.

  2. feignedmischief November 15, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Look at what we have here, a Doctor Who discussion! Hiya Richard! πŸ˜‰

    It does feel like play acting to me too, but still made me giggly all over with the prospect of Morrissey eventually playing it. Can’t wait for December 25!

  3. Morbius November 15, 2008 at 8:00 pm #

    Over the top? Well that’s not like the Doctor at all is it? πŸ˜‰

    Seriously, some fans have suggested he’s spoofing on 80’s Doctors. I sense the influence of Doctor Six (Colin Baker) which arguably is not a good thing…

    I’m hoping the (real) next Doctor will be less whacky and more serious. That’s not a criticism of Tennant just the direction I think the program should take after the rather campy RTD era ends. Perhaps he should be a bit of an old fashioned gothic type? I’d certainly welcome a return to the gothic horror style of the early Tom Baker era.

  4. eddie November 17, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    And I will be abroad when this comes out and you dont have telly to record it for me!

  5. feignedmischief November 18, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    Nice to see you drop by Morbius! πŸ˜‰

    eddie: Surely you can record off your posh telly? Or just do what I do, catch it on the iPlayer on your return! Although I am already watching this episode at Susie’s!

  6. eddie December 5, 2008 at 7:45 pm #

    Whatever!

Leave a Reply

