Would You Go On Holidays Alone?

29 Mar

edinburgh11

I have been meaning to realize this personal mission for quite sometime now. You see when youre single, and in my case, female (really?! I could have fooled everyone!) and if most of your friends are married and have already made other plans for their holidays, or are not planning to go anywhere, or whatever reason they can come up with because they dont really want to include you in their holiday plans, then that’s it, your stuck and can’t go anywhere. Hang on, really, you can’t go anywhere as a single female person? Meaning you give up easily and just not go on holiday, anywhere, even if it’s just you, on your own? Let’s develop this more so you can see my point.

I have few single friends in my local congregation and the worst part is that their idea of a holiday is totally the exact opposite to mine. They are much younger than me so it’s all sandy beaches but I grew up close to the coast back home and had enough of it in my youth so that’s out of the question. And the thought of me prancing in a bikini is not going to happen until I lose another stone. (Right, you’re supposed to laugh there now) Like this year for example I want to revisit Edinburgh again after not having been there for the last two years and then again just to take in the sights, have another paella at Barioja, spend more time in the museums, galleries and maybe even catch a fringe production, then there’s the sightseeing of landmarks unique to this beautiful city. And also hopefully meet up again with my pal Richard of Filmstalker as our first meeting was just over a quick cup of coffee at the train station. Last but not the least, where else can you have a good ole haggis but here? Anywhere in Scotland counts too of course. Did I mention I havent been to a pub there too, so there, what other reasons do I want! So I am hoping to go there with my pal eddie to celebrate our 10 years in the UK but I can already see visions of it not happening due to her circumstances of now being a wife and a mother. But just for argument’s sake that she can’t make it, should I just go ahead and take this holiday on my own and accomplish my mission?

Would you go on holiday on your own? Discuss.

5 Responses to “Would You Go On Holidays Alone?”

  1. JohnnyFox March 31, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    I would. I could. And I do … but not all the time.

    The problem with solitary holidays – and I do recommend you read ‘The Art of Travel’ by Alain de Botton – is that even without a friend or relative alongside to push you, you still feel OBLIGED to ‘do’ the sights, or scenery, or activities that being in a particular place demands (or is suggested by its tourist board).

    And that may, or may not, be relaxing for you. Last week I spent two days in Mallorca because I needed to take the flights in order to retain my airline gold card. Pathetic, I know. But once there I felt compelled to see the cathedral, and the museum and walk the streets of the old town WHETHER I WANTED TO OR NOT.

    And that’s where I think I failed the test of self-indulgence for solo holidays. Although the Gaudi delights of the cathedral were interesting, and the Mapplethorpe photos and sub-Schwitterian detritus collages of the art collection were momentarily diverting … if I’m honest I’d rather have lain in the sun with a book and eaten ice cream.

    So by all means go to Edinburgh but don’t feel obligated to see a fringe performance, walk the Royal Mile, climb up to the castle, visit Rogano’s (or my personal favourite the Cafe Royal pub http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/edinburgh/pubguide/caferoyalbar.html) unless you REALLY want to.

  2. Richard Brunton (Filmstalker) April 4, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    I say it depends how strong a person you are and if you can enjoy your own time.

    JohnnyFox’s comment made me think of something, would you feel obliged to go to more tourist places because you are on your own? Possibly not, but it might make you search out more places that you like. If you’re with someone else it can often be a compromise between what the two of you like.

    However there’s a huge bonus to that, company and someone to share the fun with, and that (as the advert says) is priceless.

  3. Shelley May 2, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    http://toolkit.bootsnall.com/solo-travel-guide/why-travel-alone.html

    Goethe went alone to Italy, in early middle age (37), and “it was not nostalgia alone which later led Goethe to claim more than once that he had never again really been happy since leaving Rome…” (Italian Journey (1989), at 3.

    Do not hesitate.

  4. Awaimifef July 10, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Definately will not go to Vilamoura anymore, 6 Hour rounds of Golf and 4.5 Euros for a beer , we will stay clear of the Vilamoura golf courses this year, and the so called free shuttle bus turns up if you are lucky.

  5. JohnnyFox July 26, 2009 at 7:24 pm #

    Well, I’ve just been on holiday on my own – and really enjoyed it.

    In hotels when you see other ‘couples’ with nothing to say to each other at breakfast or dinner, it makes you realise how well off you are with either the waiting staff (charming or decorative) to chat to – or your book. In my case the Collected Letters of Noel Coward was far warmer, wittier and more engaging than anyone else I saw on my trip, so I wasn’t envious of their company.

    Besides, if you take excursions, or sit around in cafes with other tourists there’s no shortage of people to talk to, for as long as you want. And you don’t have to take them with you when you leave!

    my experiences of Austria and Bavaria are here:

    http://blowstar.blogspot.com/2009/07/hills-are-alive.html

    http://blowstar.blogspot.com/2009/07/tourist-trapp.html

Leave a Reply

