Theatre trotting in December

1 Dec

December. The homestretch. Holiday season. Good excuse to see more theatre.

I saw most of the productions I booked last month but one. I’m actually quite thrilled about this month because I am seeing 3 musicals, one of which I probably wouldnt have paid much attention but because of the raving reviews it has received I thought, go on then, book it for I might just like it too. So without much ado, here’s my theatre itinerary for December.

3 – Blood Brothers, Phoenix Theatre

If it was just up to me, if I didnt listen to anybody else, didnt bother reading reviews or anything, I probably would never have given this musical a chance. I’ve been living in London for over 8 years now and have been passing by the Phoenix Theatre with it’s marquee lights and billboards but it has never really drawn me in. Since hearing “Tell Me It’s Not True”, via Michael Ball, and the raves regarding Melanie C’s stirring performance since she took over as Mrs Johnstone, I was left with no choice. It’s amazing how most of the critics were won over, so although I prefer straight plays, I still like my musicals and am hoping to be converted. Tell me it’s true!

10 – Rope, Almeida

A play by Patrick Hamilton adapted into film by master of suspense Alfred Hitchcock. With a cast led by Blake Ritson and Alex Waldmann.

14- Legally Blonde

I quite enjoyed the film with Reese Witherspoon although I wouldnt give two rats patootie with the sequel but a musical version? Seriously? It was during one of my outings with the West End Whingers that this idea was broached and we thought it will be a good evening out nevertheless. I have never seen Sheridan Smith on stage but I love most of her tv work. So yes, let’s all hope that Legally Blonde the Musical will be a hoot!

18- Sweet Charity, Menier Chocolate Factory

I like Neil Simon’s work. Barefoot in the Park, They’re Playing Our Song, The Goodbye Girl, just to name a few. I really wanted to see this with the Whingers but could not do it on a Sunday, well, just about any given Sunday really. It will be my first time to see Tamzin Outhwaite but really thrilled to see Josefina Gabrielle again. Sweet!

21- The Misanthrope, Comedy Theatre

No, I am not a fan of Miss Keira Knightley, I thought I’ll get that out of the way first. I have always felt that she still needs to take some more acting lessons after having seen a lot of other actresses like Romola Garai, Hayley Atwell, Michelle Dockery and Carey Mulligan who has got better acting chops than Miss K. But I will be kind and say that she did impress me in Pride and Prejudice and Atonement. So although I booked this mainly because it’s a play by Moliere, and led by veteran thespians in Damian Lewis, Tara Fitzgerald and Dominic Rowan, I really would like to see her do well in this and maybe see more of her on stage if she does pull it off.

29 –Red, Donmar Warehouse

A play about the artist Mark Rothko, starring Alfred Molina.

There goes my list, it’s not a lot but with this weather geting a lot colder as we speak, I seem to prefer staying indoors right after work nowadays so 6 productions this month is just about right. So, what about you?

3 Responses to “Theatre trotting in December”

  1. lonelypond December 3, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    Sounds like a great month…I bet Rope will be the good kind of intense in the confines of a theatre — it’s a great movie. Read Molina’s interview/profile in the FT — his take on Rothko sounds worth watching. We’ll be hitting the local theatres for Christmas shows and to catch up with friends.

  2. JohnnyFox December 3, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    I agree with you about Keira Knightley – she’s just cast as an incentive to make husbands/boyfriends pay for tickets, and I bet it will be miked to buggery. I saw Garai interviewed recently, she seemed both precious and thick, an unfortunate combination.

    Rope’s a tense play, and the Almeida should do it proud although again the casting’s with people who have more television than stage experience and much of that in sketch shows rather than drama. In his Wikipedia entry, Blake Ritson claims to have played Paul Prentice in ‘Different for Girls’ but I’m absolutely sure that was Rupert Graves. I wonder why?

    See you at Legally Blonde, if only to remind you you are coming to see us at Southwark Cathedral the following night !!!!

  3. feignedmischief December 5, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    @lonelypond: Thanks for taking the time to comment. I am really looking forward to Red as I love Mark Rothko’s work. Do share your own theatre trotting experiences!

    @John: YAY! I am glad that you’re joining us for the theatre outing. I’ll ask Phil to give us seats close to each other. Re: the ff. night it’s a cathedral and if you’re singing X’mas carols you know I can’t come. 😦

Leave a comment