Theatre trotting in September

1 Sep

Out of the 10 productions I planned to watch last month, I ended up just seeing seven of them, including the controversial Too Close to the Sun when I saw it on it’s final performance, but missed Blood Wedding (lukewarm reviews), Jerusalem (exhausted) and Helen (exhausted again). The last I heard was that there are plans to bring Jerusalem to the West End, so we’ll see about that.

Here’s what I am seeing this September:

5- Hello Dolly!, Open Air Theatre

LOVED everything about this production so much when I saw it last month, but Samantha Spiro was struggling with her vocals a bit, I thought she was probably just having an off night and will get better in future performances. Snapped up tickets for myself and my friend Debbie who’s also a big fan of musicals.

7- Judgment Day, Almeida

As I watch almost every production at the Almeida, this is one of their first productions for the new season. Not to mention Joseph Milson is part of the cast too.

10- Mother Courage and Her Children, Olivier, National Theatre

First time to watch Fiona Shaw. My first Bertolt Brecht play. The last time I was at the National was in June when I saw Phedre, so I can’t wait to be back there.

17- Talent, Menier Chocolate Factory

Not a West End Whingers outing of this Victoria Wood musical.

22- An Inspector Calls, Novello

Have heard a lot about this J. B. Priestley classic thriller that had a successful run at the National Theatre years back. And since I wasnt that enthused about Time and the Conways, I thought this might just change my heart.

25- Love’s Labour’s Lost, Shakespeare’s Globe

Having missed the RSC’s production of this last year and the quest to watch as much Shakespeare plays as possible, explains it all.

See you at the theatre!

9 Responses to “Theatre trotting in September”

  1. JohnnyFox September 7, 2009 at 5:36 am #

    Will see you @ Talent. Remind me to bring your fridge magnet !

    I have 7 dates for September, have already seen Alan Cumming : I bought a blue car today, and next week is One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest @ Bridewell, and Nigel Kennedy violin concert in the Tower of London (doesn’t really count as ‘theatre’), followed by a three day marathon of Talent, of course, sandwiched between Kiri te Kanawa and Into the Woods (Landor).

    You don’t have the WEW outing to ‘Inherit The Wind’ on the 22nd which I thought might be September’s highlight, if just for the lovely Mr Spacey, but An Inspector Calls was a terrific production which I know you’ll enjoy (it’s more gripping than Time and the Conways) although the re-casting is very cheap, no ‘stars’ and looks like they’re preparing it for a regional tour.

    • feignedmischief September 7, 2009 at 10:48 pm #

      What do you mean by 3 day marathon of Talent? Okay I will remind you of the fridge magnet (and Alice in Wonderland!) 🙂

      I already booked An Inspector Calls way back even before I have heard Spacey was doing Inherit the Wind. I am seeing it with a visiting friend in late October. I am sure it would also be nice to see it with you and the Whingers in the party, like the first time I met you in Complicit!

      Hang on, have you got tickets for Into the Woods already, would love to see that one!

  2. webcowgirl September 7, 2009 at 6:17 am #

    My September shows are:
    I Bought A Blue Car Today (woo!)
    Forbidden Broadway (if I can get seats on the day, as it is sold out)
    Talent
    The Mysteries at the Garrick (since I loved Impepe Yomlingo so much)
    Jordi Savall (classical music performance)

    I may see another show or two but I’m having to dial my going out down due to my new job – also have my husband’s birthday and a trip out of town this month. I’ll hate it if work really clips my wings, though!

    • feignedmischief September 7, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

      Are you also seeing Talent on the 17th? It’s been a while snce I saw you last!

      I will probably see another show I am just not sure which one yet. But yeah, I hope An Inspector Calls will be good, Time & the Conways just didnt do it for me.

  3. webcowgirl September 7, 2009 at 6:18 am #

    Oh and of course I saw the Pitmen Painters last week, too. You remind me: I should go see An Inspector Calls, but in my case it’s because I liked Time and the Conways!

  4. T R P Watson September 7, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    7. Punk Rock
    8. Shawshank Redemption
    9. 2nd May 1997
    10. Vanya
    14. Mother Courage
    17. Fastest Clock in the Universe
    21. Speaking in Tongues
    22. Talent
    23. Inherit the Wind
    24.. Enron
    29. Judgement Day
    30. The Author

  5. feignedmischief September 7, 2009 at 10:54 pm #

    Wow! That’s not a lot of theatre, is it? 🙂

    I am interested on what you think of Vanya, Speaking in Tongues and The Author.

    (And I half expected that I will see you at the National this Thursday for Mother Courage!)

  6. A Clown September 11, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    IThere’s so much to see this month isn’t there.
    My dates are (if you don’t mind me posting)
    9 Punk Rock
    10 The Shawl
    11 Hello Dolly (again)
    14 Breakfast at Tiffany’s
    15 Mother Courage
    21 Enron
    22 Our Class
    23 Prick Up Your Ears
    26 Speaking In Tongues
    29 An Inspector Calls
    I’m particularly excited for Speaking in Tongues as I love Andrew Bovell and Lantana is one of my favourite films. Will be interested what you think of Judgement Day, I’m not going for a few weeks yet, I like to go to the performances with the Q&As at the end.

Leave a comment